3…2…1…BLIZZARD!

blizzard-3The past two winters we’ve been pretty lucky in New England when it comes to how much snow we’ve received.  Three winters ago we had a blizzard every Tuesday for five weeks in a row with a few smaller storms in between.  Roofs on houses and businesses were collapsing under the snow’s weight, schools were being shut down because of structural concerns, and it was an overall pain in the ass.  Last year I didn’t even use my snow blower.  This year I’ve used it only once, and we’re into the first ten days of February.

So here I sit this morning, at the dining room table with my laptop and a cup of coffee, waiting.  Every 30 seconds I catch myself looking out the window, looking for that first snowflake.  I know it’s coming, I’ve already looked at Doppler radar.  The snow line is less than 100 miles away and it’s creeping closer and closer to my little part of the world.

Just sitting here and knowing what is about to happen is a strange feeling.  Up to two and a half FEET of snow is forecast between this (Friday) morning and tomorrow night.  It will start off pretty tame and work its way up to three or four inches per hour through tonight.  Winds are expected to be sustained around 35 miles per hour with gusts over 50.  That means we’ll have the possibility of yet another winter storm power outage.

I think every school has already been closed, many businesses are shut down, and the state’s Governor has already declared a state of emergency and has told people to just stay home, stay off the roads.  Get your supplies and hunker down.  My refrigerators are stocked with plenty of beer – that’s all I need to survive a storm other than my trusty snow blower and a couple of snow shovels.

I know what to expect.  I know exactly what I’ll be doing during this storm.  Part of me is looking forward to it, and part of me wants to jump on a plane and head to an island where I can kick back with a cold drink and feel beach sand between my toes.  This anticipation is almost like knowing a nuclear attack is coming, except you know there won’t be immediate devastation.  This storm will move like a turtle, taking it’s time to meander across the northeast.  And when it finally makes its way out to sea, we’ll have a ton of turtle poop to clean up.

I’ve seen how New Englanders come together in the face of something like this.  We all know it can be pretty bad.  We know that because of the storm and the timing of high tide there will be storm surges that could make things pretty difficult for those living in the coastal areas.  We know Boston will be a mess, air and ground transportation will come to a screeching halt.  We also know neighbors will help each other dig out and get things back to normal.  We know the power companies have emergency plans already in place.

There has been a lot of talk around these parts this week about the Blizzard of 1978.  Last Wednesday was the 35th anniversary of the storm that dumped 27.1 inches of snow on Boston.  The storm killed approximately 100 people and injured around 4500.  It also caused almost one billion dollars in property damage.

MOTORIST INTERSTATE 95 BLIZZARDSOUTH BOSTON BLIZZARD

They say today’s approaching storm won’t be like the Blizzard of ’78 because this one will unfold over a longer period of time.  People and plows will be better able to keep up with it.  But we know it’s coming and we’re not afraid.  We’re New England.  The word “afraid” isn’t in our vocabulary.

And as I glance out my window one more time, I see the snowflakes beginning to fall now.  They look so innocent, not even turning the ground to white yet.  The plan I have made to deal with it is now in motion and I look as much forward to attacking this storm as the storm is to attacking us.  Winter in New England.  We’ve been spoiled the last two years, and now it’s time to pay up. The rent has come due. Here we go…

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Nicole

     /  February 8, 2013

    Kdawg, hide your kids and hide your wife the storm is going to find you!!!!!! It is just finishing up here an we have survived, we may not have gotten as much as you but we are still alive. I am not sure if your wife will remember the storm if ’78 but the younger children if the subdivision were carried home from school through the field by their older siblings and neighborhood children because the buses stopped driving and our parents could not get us. It is one memory that I have never forgotten. As you said we come together young or old in tough times. Good luck and have a beer for Bob and I.

    Reply
    • Hey Nicole,

      Actually, we’re only getting a small piece of what you just received. Most of our problem is coming up from the south, right up the coast, and when it slams into the big high pressure sitting on top of us (thank you, Canada), we’re all gonna die. Well, maybe not ALL of us, but I expect a few birds and maybe some stray cats to possibly not make it down for breakfast tomorrow.

      As always, thanks for reading and commenting. I will gladly have many more than just one beer for both of you!

      Reply

I appreciate your comments!

