New Year’s Resolution 2013 – Random Acts of Kindness?

2013_1It’s 2013…get used to it.  For me, it’s another one of those “I can’t believe I made it this long” kind of things.  As I get older I think the same thing when the new year rolls around.  Last year and in this new year everyone I graduated from high school with either has or will be turning 50.  It’s crazy when you think about it, how time passes and before you know it you’re becoming eligible for AARP benefits.  But that’s life, so we all suck it up and move forward.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions.  A resolution, to me, is just like a rule – they are made to be broken.  You break them, then you feel guilty about it.  I don’t put myself in that situation.  I don’t need to make resolutions because I have no problem with the way I live my life.  New Year’s resolutions are made because there is something in your life you’re not happy with and you feel a need to change something.  You can do that at any point in the year and in doing so, the pressure and stress to pull off your resolution is less.  The new year is just a marker.  Why not make your marker February 4th or June 25th?

But if you feel the need to make a New Year’s resolution, maybe you should make one that doesn’t just help yourself.  This year, how about making a resolution that helps others at the same time?  With all the violence, war and unjust things in the world today, if each of us made a resolution to help others, we could realistically make the world a better place.  That resolution doesn’t have to be limited to helping your fellow man or woman.  You could decide to volunteer at an animal shelter or donate time or money to save a stretch of land or help out at your local after-school place for kids.

2013_2Everyone is busy these days and it’s easy to give the excuse of not having enough time.  But there are so many things we can do as individuals that add up and can make a difference even if your free time is limited.  Just being nice to people in the workplace or saying hello to someone you pass on the street can go a long way.  Being tolerant of others from a cultural or religious standpoint can really make a difference.  I believe strongly in Karma and I believe in having the best Karma I can possibly have.  If something isn’t going right in my life, I attribute it to my own Karma.  By being as helpful as I can be, by being kind to people and by helping animals in any way I can, I am contributing to my own Karma in a positive way.

This year, reach out to your neighbor.  Reach out to someone you don’t know.  Resolve to spread kindness and understanding.  Resolve to be the best person you can be without having to change your life in a way that will bring stress to you and those around you.  Be resolute to participate in simple and random acts of kindness.  The more of those acts you give out, the better you will feel and ultimately, the better this world will be for all of us.

To all, I wish a happy, safe, healthy and prosperous New Year!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. KDawg

     /  January 1, 2013

    Thank you, Maureen! And thanks for reading!! Happy New Year to you!

    Reply
  2. Maureen

     /  January 1, 2013

    beautifully said!

    Reply
  1. United We Stand, Divided We Fall « The Musings of Lady Gwendolynn

I appreciate your comments!

