The Hullabaloo Over Gun Control

guncontrolOk, so Kansas City Chiefs player Jovan Belcher pulled out a gun and shot his girlfriend last week.  After killing her he shot and killed himself.  Big news story, but nothing really out of the ordinary these days.  The story gained national attention because he was a professional football player.  But let’s face it, this kind of thing happens every day in America.  But because this was a high-profile case, the gun control maniacs start coming out of the woodwork to spread their gospel.  People who have a soapbox like Bob Costas start proclaiming their opinion as reality.  Everyone has an opinion, just like everyone has an assh*le.

I don’t care who does what with a gun.  The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, which is part of the United States Bill of Rights, protects the right of the people to keep and bear arms.  This document also states the need for a well-regulated militia as being necessary to the security of a free State.  This is a freedom, a right, and a responsibility this country was founded on.  It’s just like the freedom of religion, or the freedom of the right to gather in public, the freedom of speech, and all the other cool freedoms we have in the United States that other countries don’t have.

But let’s remember something before we start questioning the Constitution or our Bill of Rights; EVERY right that we enjoy here also comes with RESPONSIBILITY.  I was taught that in my 9th grade Civics class.  In fact, I had it rammed down my throat by Mrs. Lewandowsky, my Civics teacher.  You don’t yell, “FIRE!” in a crowded theatre.  You don’t threaten the life of the President.  There are certain things you just don’t do in order to be able to enjoy the rights we have.  You also don’t brandish a weapon and start shooting people although you might own that weapon legally.

Some people say guns kill people, some say people with guns kill people.  I say unstable people who own guns kill people because they are idiots.  There isn’t a flaw in the law that enables people to own guns, there is a flaw in the process that enables people to own guns.  Whether it is because of a lack of funding for adequate background checks or some other loophole in the system, if people of questionable character are able to own guns, you will have questionable results from them owning them.

DUH.

When I was married to my first wife, I always said to her that it was a good thing we didn’t own a gun.  We lived in a pretty shady part of Pontiac, Michigan, a place known for violence, robberies, murders, well, what have you.  We should have owned a gun.  But if I would have owned a firearm when I was married to her, I would have been locked up a long time ago because I would have had no choice but to squeeze the trigger and put a cap in her abusive, drunken ass.  That’s how badly she treated me.  But my cooler head prevailed because I knew I shouldn’t have owned a gun so I never bought one.

When you look at the percentage of how many NFL players own a gun, it’s incredible.  Look at this story – three out of four NFL players say they own a gun because they feel they need protection.  Now, look at the average GPA of these players from college.  Look at their upbringing.  Do you mean to tell me that we have three out of four NFL players walking around with guns who hardly even have a high school education?  REALLY?

Is there an underlying reason these clowns are shooting people, beating their wives or girlfriends or kicking the crap out of people at bars?  Could it be that many of these players aren’t educated enough or conditioned properly to function correctly within our regular society?  Think about it – you’re a young kid, and I don’t care what color you are, growing up underprivileged and you get your big money ticket punched to the NFL.  Oh sure, you have everything you need to be a positive member of society off of the football field, right?

Give that kid a gun.

I respect the right to bear armsTed Nugent was my idol when I was growing up because I thought he played one hell of a mean guitar.  Over time I’ve felt he has gotten a bit nuts on some of his approaches to gun ownership.  But I think Ted would say, and I would agree, that if this clown went to his team facility after shooting and killing his girlfriend and the people he met there knew he had just shot and killed her, someone should have taken him down.  He abused his right as an American, plain and simple.  He just lucked out by taking his own life.  He wasn’t worthy of facing a jury trial and incarceration after what he did.

The Second Amendment to our Constitution is there for a reason.  But as with every right comes a responsibility.  If you abuse any responsibility that comes with a right as an American, you deserve to be treated as such.

Right Ted?

Answer me, Ted!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Nice Blog Kurt!

    …but, did you really need to remind me about Mrs. Lewandowsky?

    Reply
    • KDawg

       /  December 8, 2012

      Hey Greg!
      The most difficult time I’ve had with Mrs. Lewandowsky was while watching The Big Lebowski. Every time I heard his name I couldn’t help but thinking back to Civics class!

      DOH!

      Thanks for reading my blog and for leaving a comment. Have a great day, and check back soon!

      Reply
  2. Bruce Antaya

     /  December 7, 2012

    Good job Kirk. Nice to see that we can go from being A-hole teen to a mature adult.

    Reply
    • KDawg

       /  December 7, 2012

      Bruce,

      I don’t really know what you mean by being an “A-hole teen”. When I was a “teen” I was an idiot, misguided youth. But I appreciate the end of your comment. One cannot be judged by the limited learnings of youth.

      I have been a mature adult for quite some time now, I have been through more than most in the 49 years I have been here. But all the same, I appreciate your comments and I thank you for them.

      And for the record, my name is Kurt.

      Thanks for dropping by and reading, and for leaving a comment,

      Reply
  3. KDawg

     /  December 7, 2012

    I agree, Ms. Colie. I have also suffered a serious head trauma incident and overpasses have always been attractive to me…but I keep moving forward and I have no intention of taking out an innocent travellor driving under an overpass. The game of football (or fuseball, as the Waterboy’s mama calls it) is dangerous. It’s not meant for normal human boys or girls. Keep you sons safe, Otherwise, they might be running the government someday.

    Thanks for you comment!

    Dawg

    Reply
  4. Nicole Jacobs

     /  December 7, 2012

    Did it ever occur to Bob Costas that maybe Jovan could have used a baseball bat on his girlfriend and then gone and jumped off of a highway over pass and ruined an innocent drivers day!!! We better get rid of all baseball bats and start removing over passes!!! I am glad we do not have to pay for this guy in jail for the rest of his life after what he did. I wished they would have focused on how head injuries may have effected him and not the fact that he had a gun.

    Reply

I appreciate your comments!

