Americans Lay Egg With Chick-fil-A

Everyone’s heard what’s going on with Chick-fil-A.  So many people are flapping their gums about this story and it’s starting to cross over into the realm of the ridiculous.  Here’s what I know:

  • Information was released that showed Chick-fil-A donates large sums of money every year to pro-traditional marriage organizations.  Pro-traditional meaning heterosexual marriage.  The legal and spiritual bonding of a man and a woman.
  • Dan Cathy, the president of Chick-fil-A, acknowledged his company supports these organizations because they believe in the same values he does.  In fact, the other family members involved in ownership of Chick-fil-A also believe in those same values.
  • Chick-fil-A is a private, family owned company.
  • Cathy’s comments started a firestorm among the gay and lesbian community, and organizations that support same-sex marriage.
  • Gays, lesbians, heterosexuals and homosexuals have gotten their underwear in a bundle over the whole thing.
  • Chick-fil-A is a lousy name for a restaurant chain.

There are a few things in this world that really get me steamed.  One is reverse discrimination and one is reverse intolerance.  What gets me about this story is that Chick-fil-A is a PRIVATELY OWNED company.  Being such, they have the right to give money to whatever organizations they choose, just as you and I do as private citizens.  If it were discovered they were donating to gay and lesbian organizations, would there be such controversy?  Maybe, maybe not.  But we really need to find something to do with our lives that is more important and productive than worrying about how a private company spends their money.

You’ve heard of gay bashing.  This is straight bashing.  This is reverse intolerance.  And sadly, this is what Americas has become.  Everyone is so concerned about being politically correct there is no threshold left for determining what is politically correct anymore.  Every move you make, every decision you make, every word you speak can be scrutinized and judged as being offensive to someone.  In this country we have the right of free speech and freedom of religion.  People live their lives in whatever fashion they choose and being Americans, we enjoy that right.  If I disagree with how you live your life, that doesn’t mean the way you live it is wrong.  Some people think the way I live my life is ridiculous, and that’s fine as long as I can reconcile my own life as being ridiculous (which, by the way, I do).

In the mid 90’s I worked for an optometric practice in Birmingham, Michigan.  It was owned by three doctors and they were all Jewish.  One of the doctors told me one day, “Jews are the chosen ones.  You should follow the Jewish faith if you want to live a good life with good rewards.”

Think about that for a minute.  It was 1995.  I shrugged it off and it didn’t bother me.  It didn’t bother me one bit that a person responsible for me being paid every two weeks made such a comment to me.  For centuries every religion has tried to push their beliefs on people who thought a different way.  Not a problem for me.  But if that same scenario happened today with two different people, it would have the potential to become just as big of an issue as the whole Chick-fil-A thing is today.

I don’t follow any particular religion but I quite definitely believe marriage should be between a man and a woman.  I feel that way for several reasons and that also involves gays being able to adopt children.  I believe a strong America is reliant on strong family units although the definition of “family unit” is changing daily before our very eyes.  However, those are my beliefs and it’s obvious there are millions of people who disagree with that belief.

And America, that is okay.  That is fine with me.  This is America and I have the right to express my opinion on the subject.  In doing so, it might spark debate on the issue.  That debate should be based on tolerance of the opinion of others.  It shouldn’t include property damage and harassment.  It shouldn’t include cities (Boston) going on public record stating that Chick-fil-A is not welcome there.  It shouldn’t be taking up as much news time as it is especially when we’ve got some really great moments happening at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Personally, I think Dan Cathy is a champion because he has the guts to stand up for what he feels is right.  He has the courage to stand up and say he supports something that mirrors his values.  And he has the right to do so and shouldn’t have to fear the ramifications of his opinions.  Throughout the year my wife and I make donations to people who are out there walking and riding for a cure for cancer.  I’m sure that makes the healthcare industry upset (because it’s not in their financial interest to find that cure) but I’m not going to stop contributing even though the healthcare industry is big and powerful enough to have me die in a tragic traffic accident on any given day.

Let’s find something better to spend our time on.  As America, we are the role model for the world.  Let’s stop setting an example of being whining little babies.  Instead, let’s show everyone else how to be tolerant of others.  Let’s show the world we’re better than two little kids fighting in a sandbox over a stupid plastic truck.  All we have to do is remember the values this country was founded on and what so many men and women (and gays) have died for.

Leave a comment

I appreciate your comments!

