Canada In Dire Straits

From the “Oh my God I can’t believe society has sunken to yet another new low” category, this story emerged from the bowels of anarchy and unheralded idiocracy yesterday in Canada of all places:

Dire Straits’ ‘Money for Nothing’ should be censored, broadcast panel rules

OTTAWA – The 1980s song “Money for Nothing” by the British rock band Dire Straits has been deemed unacceptable for play on Canadian radio.

In a ruling released Wednesday, the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council says the song contravenes the human rights clauses of the Canadian Association of Broadcasters’ Code of Ethics and Equitable Portrayal Code.

A listener to radio station CHOZ-FM in St. John’s, N.L., complained last year that the song includes the word “faggot” in its lyrics and is discriminatory to gays.

The broadcaster argued that the song had been played countless times since its release decades ago and has won music industry awards.

A CBSC panel concluded that the word “faggot,” even if once acceptable, has evolved to become unacceptable in most circumstances.

The panel noted that “Money for Nothing” would be acceptable for broadcast if suitably edited.

All I can say is WHAT THE HELL IS THIS FAGGOT IN NEWFOUNDLAND TALKING ABOUT AND WHY DOESN’T HE GO OUT AND GET A LIFE?

Money For Nothing first appeared on Dire Straits’ Brother In Arms album released in 1985.  It was a tongue in cheek shot at MTV and so-called musical “artists” who used the music video platform as a way to make tons of money without having to sell records and go on tour to support their work.  You know – doing business the traditional way that real bands had done it for years prior.  The song won countless awards including a Grammy in 1985 for Best Rock Performance by a Duo or Group.  Many people don’t know that Sting, in his falsetto intro and outro on the song, made a buttload of cash for his work on the song.  Not only did he earn royalties for his work on the song itself, he also was able to tie a deal into his own work, gaining royalties at the same time for The Police’s Don’t Stand So Close To Me.  If you listen closely to his vocal on Money For Nothing, you’ll notice it’s the same melody as Don’t Stand So Close To Me.  But anyway…

I’ve always loved Canada.  As a kid I used to cross the border from Detroit into Windsor to take advantage of the low drinking age.  I always viewed my northerly neighbors as a country that embraced independent thinking and was always willing to try progressive things such as national healthcare.  When I read this story today I was, to put it mildly, pissed off at this wah-wah-crybaby-bleeding-hearted faggot in Newfoundland.  One guy is  offended by a word in the lyrics of a great song released more than two decades ago and the entire Canadian listenership has to be shielded from those song lyrics?  Really?  I mean, Eh?

C’mon Newfies – it’s time to get with the program and understand how things should work.  If you get all bent out of shape over a word used in a song as you hear it coming over your favorite radio station, CHANGE THE DAMN STATION IF YOU DON’T LIKE IT.  Instead of taking up valuable time to complain, take your special interest ideals and go chop down a pine tree or skin a beaver!  Those pelts are still worth some valuable Canadian cash in the northern parts of Canada, and skinning a beaver for its pelt isn’t considered a bad thing there.  You have to stay warm in those cold Canadian winters, you know.  I mean, Eh?

I have to wonder if this guy would travel to Italy and complain that the statue of David should be censored because it has a … PENIS.  Because you know, many out there who have undergone a sex change operation probably believe David should have a vagina by now…and they should have an equal say.

Censorship is a bad thing.  In America we have rights intact that allow us to express ourselves freely.  Even to this day we try to censor art, music (Tipper, Tipper, Tipper), books (Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Fin for example) and other forms of expression to make them politically correct for the masses.  Hell, the Tomahawk Chop was banned in Atlanta at Braves games years ago!  My Eastern Michigan Hurons had to change their name to the “Eagles” not very long ago.  And maybe I want my kid to be able to read Uncle Tom’s Cabin!  So what’s the problem here?

The problem is that as our society continues to censor things that truly make us a “society”, we will eventually all be dumbed down to having to accept everything as being bland, non-expressive and generic.  We will all become drones, living our lives with no color and no individualism.  We will become, in fact, Iran.

I know of only one Newfloundlander who matters to me.  That’s Dan Cleary of the Detroit Red Wings.  I hope in my heart that this guy who brought Lord Stanley’s Cup to Newfoundland for the first time doesn’t feel the same way this one socially dejected moron feels about this Dire Straits tune.  Dan, say it isn’t so – go up there and check that guy into the boards and knock some sense into him.  Take a cheap shot if you have to, I’ll pay your salary during your suspension.

I’ve spent several years in the radio broadcasting business so I know a thing or two about censorship.  All I can tell you is it’s WRONG.  If you hear a song or program on the radio that offends you, CHANGE THE STATION.  If you see something on TV that doesn’t make you all warm and cozy inside, CHANGE THE STATION.  Those tuning knobs and remote controls give you the power to make yourself happy in your own world.  An example from my world is that my wife and I watch Skating With The Stars.  Johnny Weir, one of the judges, is a flamingly gay twisted, mangled mess.  I cringe every time I see him or hear him speak.  If you haven’t seen him, then imagine Boy George times 2, 472 with a sex change.  As much as I can’t stand this guy, I don’t get up off my lazy ass and call the network to complain.  I have better things to do with my time, like watch Dan Cleary wipe out some Canadian sludge that has no business living on this planet.  I don’t even use my remote control to change the channel because I don’t want to piss off my wife.  So, I LIVE WITH IT.  I just realize it’s going to be a fact of life that ABC decided to hire a flaming faggot to judge a skating competition program with an old guy and a black woman.  Hey, that’s the way it is, and I continue to watch the show.

Shame on you, Canada, for forcing Mark Knopfler and the band to change their creativity for one  upset Newfie.  Shame on you for helping to create a world of stupidity undoubtedly supported by idiots like Tipper Gore and other fascist suppressionists who dream of a world populated with mindless morons who seek nothing more than a commute and a paycheck.  Nowadays I’m having a problem with what the proper term is for a bundle of sticks.  It used to be a bundle of sticks was called a faggot.  If this is still the case, is someone going to call for a redesign of the artwork on Led Zeppelin’s fourth album because it features an old man carrying a bundle of sticks on his back?  Is that a secret message posed by the band, poking fun at gay men?

I am so confused.

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I for one appreciate Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits for the music they play. I once was locked into the idea that the message was the important thing. Today I listen to what I want to listen to musically. Sometimes I have a Senior moment and want to listen to something that has a message like Eve of Destruction or A Hard Rain is going to fall. But heck I am offended by a lot of the words people use and I don’t censor them and tell them they may no longer talk. Art forms have long been given more liberty of expression because they portray a world that is not wholly real. Room is usually given for exaggeration and imagination. But then again bigots don’t always understand art.

    Reply
  2. Mink

     /  January 17, 2011

    I have to agree with you KDawg, censorship is getting out of hand. It’s gotten to the point where a person can no longer be themselves, they have to be a censored version. You have to watch everything you say and even by doing that you are bound to offend somebody! It’s just not right. I say to hell with everyone, be yourself and who cares who you offend, you might just make someones day!

    Reply
    • KDawg

       /  January 17, 2011

      Mink,

      I agree. It’s hard to believe that creative geniuses like Dennis Leary can do what they do these days. Int he world of comedy, Richard Pryor and even Andrew Dice Clay had their day, but as our society has supposedly gotten “wiser”, they wouldn’t survice in today’s PC climate. One thing of note: When it comes to gays and lesbians we are urged to exercise “tolerance”. In the case of this guy in Newfoundland, why doesn’t he have to exercise “tolerance” by NOT complaining? It seems as though the word “tolerance” has to distinctly different meanings depending on who’s using it.

      Reply
  3. AJ

     /  January 16, 2011

    I, for one, am offended that you discussed the offensive word “faggot”, related it to a musical band, and that musical band was not Styx. That is plain irresponsible of you.

    Reply
    • KDawg

       /  January 17, 2011

      AJ,

      Thanks for your insight. I figured most of us would instinctively associate such words with such a weak excuse for a band as Styx. I try not to think about that band. I don’t know which “song” was worse – Babe or Mr. Roboto, but there’s got to be at least one word in each of those “songs” that should be censored. If not, then both “songs” should be censored or banned entirely from receiving any form of airplay either broadcasted or by personal choice. This would be the one exception to my “censorship sucks” rule.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

I appreciate your comments!

