All About KDawg’s Dawg

I’ve always been a dog guy.  From my earliest childhood memories to this day my world has always featured the companionship of these fabulous animals.  Over the past fifteen years we’ve owned a Pit Bull and two Bullmastiffs.  I’ve always figured that if you’re going to have a dog, then you should have a real dog.  I’m not into poodles, pugs or wiener dogs.  I like my dogs to be beefy, muscular and capable of holding their own even in two feet of snow.  I’ve had purebred dogs that were purchased from breeders, I’ve saved them from humane societies and I’ve rescued them from breed-specific rescues.  I’ve done the puppy obedience class thing and spent a lot of time training my dogs.  I consider dogs to be more than just companions.  They are part of my family, they go where I go, and they are integral to my sanity.
 
Michael Vick can kiss my ass.  People who raise dogs to fight or be aggressive can bite me.  Pit Bulls are some of the most loveable, gentle dogs if they are raised to be that way.  I believe dog owners are responsible for their dog’s actions and anyone who blames a dog that has been raised and trained by a human for an act of aggression is an idiot.
 
Cheli the Winged WarriorThe dog I have now is Cheli, a five-year-old male. We adopted him from a Bullmastiff Rescue in Massachusetts when he was two.  We don’t think he’s really a Bullmastiff – he seems to be more of a regular Mastiff in his temperament and body structure. Cheli is quite possibly the most mellow dog I have ever known. He doesn’t care about anything except when he will eat next, and he is a happy-go-lucky kind of guy. He sleeps with his tongue sticking out of his mouth and he’s just a big, lovable lug of a dog. We are so fortunate that we were able to rescue him! He is named after Chris Chelios of the Detroit Red Wings. His full name is Cheli the Winged Warrior.
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Random Thoughts « Unknown Quantity

I appreciate your comments!

